The Student News Site of GlenOak High School

The Eagle

The Eagle

The Eagle

Eagle, Aurum win awards


Throughout the years, the team that provides you with The Eagle and The Aurum has been tirelessly aiming to provide GlenOak with quality journalism. This year the news staff and yearbook were recognized for their hard work from Ohio Scholastic Media Association (OSMA). 

GlenOak has competed at the OSMA awards for as long as the current news staff advisor has been teaching there; and in all of those years, this is the first year the school has won the title of “Superior”  for In-Depth Team Reporting category, for the package on affording college. 

 The members of the staff who were involved in this were Brenna Dobranksy, Lauren Petro, Justin Spring, Ella Harris, Greg Giavasis and former editor-in-chief Alex Nicholson.

For the writers, it is a high honor and mark of validation.

“I feel extremely honored to be recognized by OSMA for my work this past year,” junior staff writer Gabriella Harris said. “I have a love for journalism and graphic design, so I am glad that others have recognized my work in the community. Mrs. Spano and my peers have helped me become a better writer and a better student, so I can’t wait to see what this next year brings.”

Along with the In-Depth Team Reporting category, there was a vast amount of other awards that GlenOak brought home this year. 

A prime example would be staff writer Donovan Voytpka, who received a rating of “excellent” for individual in-depth reporting.

“I was very grateful for winning an excellent award this year for OSMA,” Voytpka said. “This award was the accumulation of a lot of hard work and late nights. I was happy to see my work be acknowledged. The biggest takeaway for me was to build upon this achievement next year. It gave me great excitement for what next year brings and I understood that I have to up my game to achieve success again. Overall, this award means a lot for more and it shows me that people appreciate my work. This award pushes me to reach greater heights and create a great newspaper.

The OSMA awards mean something very special to the members of news staff. 

“It felt great to get recognized considering all of the work that goes into creating The Eagle,” junior Greg Giavasis said.

The awards are a great way to get recognition for the plethora of stories the Eagle and Aurum produce from infographics to in-depth reports. 

Along with getting recognition there are some other pros. 

“I think the awards will help me in the future. They show how much work and effort I have put into my stories and that I’m hard working and have a passion for writing,”  senior Lauren Petro said.

Complete award winners are listed below:

Honorable Mention

Mikayla Hairston – Newswriting

Mia Russo & Brenna Dobranksy – Newswriting two reporters

Dylan Philpott & Dylan Marco – Newswriting two reporters

Alex Nicholson, Paolo Sinpoli, Tajouis Alkaied, Lily Fraizer, Kaya McDonald – Indepth team reporting

Ella Harris – General Feature

Donovan Votypka – General Feature

Dominic Gemma – Personality Profile

Tajouis Alkaied – Infographic

Carmyn Grubbs – Editorial

Matt Garfinkle – Review

Carmyn Grubbs – Sports Feature

Ella Harris- News Photo

Elena May – Feature Page Layout

Camryn Grubbs – Editorial Page Layout

Emily Klien and Andrea Pifer – Yearbook student life spread

Meghan McClung – yearbook student life spread

Jessie Muckley & Roman Shaheen – Best Overall Coverage in a Single Spread


Donovan Votypka – Indepth Reporting individual

Hannah Bigrigg – Personality Profile

Roman Shaheen – News Feature

Roman Shaheen – News Feature

Lauren Petro – Commentary

Greg Giavasis – Commentary

Emily Klein – Review

Mikayla Hairston – Sports Feature

Greg Giavasis – Opinion Page Layout

Brenna Dobranksy – Yearbook Student Life Copy

Vanessa Wellman – Yearbook Sports Copy

Dylan Philpott – Yearbook Feature Photo

KayLee Tanner – Yearbook Feature Photo


Brenna Dobransky, Lauren Petro, Justin Spring, Ella Harris, Greg Giavasis, and Alex Nicholson – Indepth team reporting

Sydney Maddox – Facing Pages

Mikayla Hairston – Infographic

Ethan Harrer – Short Documentary

Cole Bowser – Short Documentary

Meghan McClung -Yearbook student life copy

Emily Zaksek – Yearbook sports copy

Jalyn Lisk, Jessie Muckley and Vanessa Wellman – Yearbook Sports Spread

News web site – First place ranking

Donate to The Eagle
Our Goal

Your donation will support the student journalists of GlenOak High School. Your contribution will allow us to purchase equipment and cover our annual website hosting costs.

More to Discover
Donate to The Eagle
Our Goal

Activate Search
Eagle, Aurum win awards